Food Finds / Low-Carb / Low-Fat / Snacks

This Week’s Top 5 Food Items

Wanted to let you in on the food items I am currently obsessing over and binging on sensibly eating. My top 5 provide wonderful health benefts and are easy to find!

1. Kashi Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat Cereal

Kashi Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat Cereal

Kashi Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat Cereal

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I rarely buy cereal because it magically disappears in a few days–and no not because I’m eating it for every meal. Kashi Heart to Heart  is one of those that has a longer shelf life in my apartment than lets say…a cinnamon toast crunch. It’s slightly sweet but not to the point where it becomes addictive and you want to inhale bowl after bowl after bowl. Made from whole grains, NO high corn fructose syrup, and high in vitamins C, E, B6 and B12 this is the cereal that does the body good. Because I have such a love for oatmeal breakfasts I eat this as a snack (1/2 cup) with a piece of fruit or a piece of…

2. Laughing Cow Mini Babybel Light Cheese 

The Laughing Cow Mini Babybel Light Cheese

The Laughing Cow Mini Babybel Light Cheese

The love of my snack life. Sorry, I’m being cheesy. (See what I did there? Oh geez.) I always thought I only loved these because of the fun waxy coating you get to peel off but I really do love the taste. It’s great for an on-the-go snack because it doesn’t get all melty once it hits room temperature. When I’m running errands I like to slip one in my bag and eat it once I’m on empty. Only 50 calories, 6 g of protein, and a source of calcium, I love pairing one of these with an apple after a sweaty workout.

3. Trader Joe’s Organic Creamy Tomato Soup 

Trader Joe's Organic Creamy Tomato Soup

Trader Joe’s Organic Creamy Tomato Soup

Trader Joe’s Organic Creamy Tomato Soup is so versatile. It’s a canvas, you may do whatever you want with it. Each serving (1 cup) has 100 calories and has a delicious creamy taste despite only having 2g of fat. Today for lunch, I made a “leftovers” soup which actually ended up being better than I expected. I heated up the soup, ¾ C of brown rice and ½ C of diced asparagus. It was hearty and filling but yet, extremely light. It stores in the fridge and keeps up for 7-10 days. It’s a great kitchen staple and a quick way to make a meal or even satisfy a late night craving. And if you’re not a tomato soup fan don’t worry, neither am I. This soup surprised me, it’s a kicked up version that’s for sure so give it a try.

4. Choice Organic Teas Premium Korean Green Tea 

Choice Organic Teas Premium Korean Green Tea

Choice Organic Teas Premium Korean Green Tea

Ok, I must admit tea is incredibly tasteless and boring. However, the benefits of drinking Green Tea definitely outweigh the boringness and lately I’ve been finding myself drinking a cup every morning. Since buying a box of these tea bags I’ve made it my goal (wow, what a goal) to drink at least one cup a day. I like this brand in particular because of their staple-free and natural fiber tea bags. Stapled tea bags make me cringe. Research shows that the catechins in green tea help your body repair and eliminate damage. Green tea helps lower cholesterol and may also help prevent cancer. A daily cup aids in reducing inflammation associated with gastro issues such as IBD. My friend, Molly, tells me she drinks it in the morning and whatever she can’t finish she pours over ice during dinner.

5. Trader Joe’s Lite Kettle Corn Popcorn

Trader Joe's Lite Kettle Corn

Trader Joe’s Lite Kettle Corn

You know when you’re in front of the TV and you just NEED something to munch on? We’re all guilty of eating in front of the TV but you know what? It’s perfectly fine as long as you pick something that’s reasonable and portioned. It’s only when you’ve nearly devoured a bag of Potato Chips camped out in front of the TV watching some mindless Bravo marathon that you need to check yourself. Each bag is 120 calories, 3g of fiber and made with only a few ingredients which we’re all familiar with: salt, sugar, sunflower oil and of course, popcorn. This is my go-to “I need to just eat something and not feel guilty” snack.

Happy eating!

Leave a comment