Dinner / Low-Carb / Low-Fat / Recipe

Crunchy Cravings

The other week I was having an uncontrollable craving for Chinese food, something about this type of cuisine is so comforting. The first thing that came to mind was P.F. Chang’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps however 1) it isn’t close to me 2) my meals always end with guilt and regret at P.F. Chang’s and 3) and my intuition told me there was one too many tablespoons of oil hanging out in that dish.

So, I did what everyone else would do if they sensed evil ingredients lurking in their beloved entrée…re-created it at home. Yeah so no one really does this but to be honest this meal came together in under 45 minutes and it. was. effortless.

After “researching” a few chicken lettuce wrap recipes on the web I created my own. I love peanuts and water chestnuts for that bite and a classic chinese flavor for the sauce (nothing too exotic like coconut milk.)  The secret ingredient in adding an authentic flavor to my concoction was the fish sauce. If you decide to change up a few things and adapt this recipe to your preference I recommend that you do NOT omit the fish sauce. Fish sauce is made from a water, sugar, and anchovy reduction that adds a little sumin’ sumin’. It is a very commonly used in Asian cooking.

So for the star of this recipe, the chicken, I bought thinly sliced chicken breast cutlets and diced into bite size pieces.

Diced Chicken Breast

Diced Chicken Breast

Following that, I diced the mushrooms and (canned) water chestnuts. Of course you can use dark meat but I wanted to keep things on the leaner side.

Diced Mushrooms and Water Chestnuts

Diced Mushrooms and Water Chestnuts

After 3 minutes of sautéing the diced chicken breast I added in all the veggies plus crushed peanuts and minced garlic and my kitchen was smelling unreal.

Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps

SvelteHealthy Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps

SvelteHealthy Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps

SvelteHealthy Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps

SvelteHealthy Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Chicken Lettuce Wraps make for a delicious dinner and leftovers. It’s low carb, high protein, low fat and made with hydrating vegetables. I made this for my boyfriend and I and he even mentioned feeling incredibly content even though it was carb-less. The two sauces above are a reduction of the liquids in the pan and a mixture of soy sauce, fish sauce and Annie’s Kung Pao Sauce and sesame seeds.

There are so many variations to this dish you could add chopped scallions, shredded carrots, cubed avocado or brown rice into your lettuce wraps. The next day I shredded my leftover lettuce and added cubed avocado with the chicken on top. It was such a fun way to eat the leftovers.

Deconstructed Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps ;-)

Deconstructed Chinese Chicken Lettuce Wraps 😉

SvelteHealthy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

1 lb Diced Chicken Breast

1 can water chestnuts

1 package button mushrooms

1/2 C crushed peanuts

1 Iceberg Lettuce Head (separate leaves)

2 minced garlic cloves

3 tbsp Fish Sauce

2 tbsp Soy Sauce

2 tbsp Annie’s Kung Pao Sauce

1 tbsp Sriracha

1 tbsp Canola Oil

½ tsp pepper

½ tsp red chili pepper flakes

sprinkle of sesame seeds for garnish

1. Heat 1 tbsp Canola Oil to Wok (or pan, whatever works.)

2. Add chicken breast and sauté until chicken begins to turn a golden color. Add garlic and sauté an additional minute.

3. Add mushrooms and chestnuts. Cook through until mushrooms have softened.

4. Add fish sauce, soy sauce, Annie’s Kung Pao sauce and sriracha over chicken mixture.

5. If you’d like a little extra heat add red chili pepper flakes & pepper.

6. Place a few tablespoons in separated Iceberg lettuce leaves. Crunch, enjoy, and repeat!

**Calories will vary but according to my calculations 1 lettuce wrap (1/2 Cup of chicken filling) was around 150 calories.

One thought on “Crunchy Cravings

  1. Pingback: So Long Sweet Summer? | SvelteHealthy

Leave a comment