Florida / Vegetarian / Workouts

Never Coast

I’m back in South Florida relaxing and spending time with my family for a bit! It’s so nice to be back home but I must say being on “vacation mode” has caused me to slip up with workouts and healthy eating. Eeck!

I’ve been trying to incorporate workouts into my daily routine at home but it’s been tough considering my current surroundings. Relying on self motivation is just not cutting it so I’ve been seeking out new ways to workout. One of  my favorite health bloggers, Sarah Dussault, previously mentioned in her blog a spinning workout at FlyWheel Sports that offers first time riders a FREE class. I signed up and took my first class yesterday. Spinning is my favorite form of cardio and until this day my favorite spinning class has been the one at Busy Body Fitness Center in Boca Raton, Florida—yes their classes are even better than the ones offered at Equinox. I was pretty excited to see what was in store for me at FlyWheel.

An hour of vigorous spinning is completely possible that is if I’m eating at least two hours before. Two hours before class I assembled a nutty and sweet breakfast sandwich.

Honey Roasted Peanut Butter & Asian Pear Sandwich

Honey Roasted Peanut Butter & Asian Pear Sandwich

Asian pears are so versatile and work well in savory and sweet dishes. They taste like a crispy apple mixed with a juicy pear. It’s an incredibly quenching piece of fruit and works perfectly in this sandwich. I used all natural honey roasted peanut butter (the one from the grinding machine) which is so much better because it is REAL! The combination of these three ingredients are incredible.

Honey Roasted Peanut Butter & Asian Pear Sandwich

Honey Roasted Peanut Butter & Asian Pear Sandwich

Honey Roasted Peanut Butter & Asian Pear Sandwich

Honey Roasted Peanut Butter & Asian Pear Sandwich

I smeared a tablespoon of the all natural honey roasted peanut butter on two grainy slices of Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Bread. This bread is the real deal made from no flour, no GMOs, no refined sugars and nothing artificial. No preservatives make this Ezekiel bread extremely perishable so I keep it in the freezer and toast the slices as needed.

So, back to Flywheel…

The class was phenomenal. The one thing I really loved about FlyWheel is it tapped into my competitive side. Spinners have the option to participate in the studio’s Torqboards which is a way to match yourself up against the other riders in the RPM, Torq, Speed and Power categories. During intense segments the instructor would illuminate a large TV screen displaying the rankings. Having my bicycle number flashing on the screen definitely got me going because I did not want to be last 🙂 . I’ve participated in many spinning classes wearing regular gym shoes but  it was convenient that FlyWheel provided spinning shoes. Oh, and their motto is rockin’: Never Coast, which to my interpretation means always reach higher and be the best YOU that you can be which is very fitting for this workout!

FlyWheel Indoor Spinning

FlyWheel Indoor Spinning

Each bicycle has a miniature screen that displays your statistics which at times drove me crazy. I felt that it was distracting and found myself getting annoyed when I wasn’t able to perform at the recommended RPM and Torq setting. Rather than just letting it be and spinning to my best ability this little screen kind of got in the way mentally. All in all I enjoyed my trial class and think it’s wonderful when studios let you do a test run before making an expensive purchase so thank you FlyWheel!

Post-workout I cooled off with some iced coffee and snacked on some heavenly blueberries.

Blueberries

Blueberries

And much later for dinner…

Whenever I’m home I always have to make a trip to Stir Crazy Fresh Asian Grill. I love the make-your-own stir fry option and created my own sizzling plate with tons and tons of veggies & tofu and a side of brown rice. I can’t wait to reheat my leftovers today. I have not found a place in NYC as inexpensive and delicious so whenever I’m home I CRAVE this meal.

Stir Crazy Fresh Asian Grill

Stir Crazy Fresh Asian Grill

I’m off to eat dinner ! Stay tuned for more deliciousness…

Have you ever tried FlyWheel or any other studio spinning class?

Is there a particular restaurant in your hometown you always make a trip to?

**The Gym Playlist Was Updated Today**

2 thoughts on “Never Coast

  1. I have also tried Flywheel Sports Spinning & their barre class. INTENSE!! It is always challenging to try a new workout.. physically and mentally. It is a major step out of my comfort zone to try a new gym, but you feel accomplished afterward. xo

Leave a comment