Recipe

Get Skinny Or Die Tryin’

This past week has been all about 2013 and what it means for everyone.

It’s that time of year when the newbies have not only taken over your gym but also all the machines you planned on using. When your grocery store has been packed with long lines of people buying healthier food and all you need is to pick up a few items. It’s the time of year when NBC premieres “The Biggest Loser “ and retail stores have wonderful sales on their athletic apparel. And let’s not forget all the magazine headlines claiming they have the secret on how to stay thin FOR-EV-ER! :-\

This has been my past week living here in New York City and everyone is sipping the same kool-aid: get skinny or die trying.

I’ve decided to intentionally ignore everything around me and continue life as I know it. I made my way to the gym today trying to remain cool, calm, and collected and not let all that extra pressure get in my head. I completed an arm circuit that my brother recommended  and spent some time on the stairmaster.  After my sweaty session I made my way to Bread & Butter for my usual go-to salad with grilled chicken, asparagus, diced tomatoes, hearts of palm, and red cabbage drizzled with olive oil and red wine vinegar. Mmmmmm!

Salad from Bread & Butter Market

Salad from Bread & Butter Market

I made a yummy dinner the other night that I think you guys will enjoy. I sautéed onion, Brussels sprouts, mushrooms, and cashews with some simple seasoning (black pepper, salt, paprika, and red chili pepper flakes ) and cooked it with Israeli couscous. A quick and easy delicious side OR entreè! It’s nutty, savory, and healthy! I’ll post the recipe below.

Israeli Couscous with: Brussels sprouts, onions, mushroom & cashews

Israeli Couscous with: Brussels sprouts, onions, mushroom & cashews

On a completely unrelated note my birthday is this week and my boyfriend surprised me with a purple (my favorite color) Cuisinart 3-Speed Hand Mixer (and tickets to see Wicked 😉 )! You always find new things you need for your kitchen when you move and I’ve been saying how I needed to find a good deal on one. I can’t wait to use it 😀 !

Cuisinart 3-Speed Hand Mixer

Cuisinart 3-Speed Hand Mixer

My Item Of The Week:  Trader Joe’s Hummus with Freshly Ground Horseradish. It’s nutty, creamy, and has a kick from the horseradish. I know a lot of people are not horseradish fans (I am!) but this dip can turn anyone into a fan. It’s great for a low-calorie snack and I like to dip my carrots/cucumbers into this delicious concoction.

Trader Joe's Hummus with Freshly Ground Horseradish

Trader Joe’s Hummus with Freshly Ground Horseradish

Israeli Couscous with Veggies.

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 chopped onion

2 C shredded Brussels sprouts

1 C chopped mushrooms

1/2 C chopped cashews (I used raw cashews)

3 C uncooked Israeli couscous

3 1/2 C Boiling Water ( I boiled my water with a bay leaf for added flavor)

Salt

Black Pepper

Paprika

Red Chili Pepper Flakes

1. In a pot, heat olive oil and sauté onion. Approx. 5 minutes.

2. Once onion begins to caramelize add in Brussels sprouts, mushrooms, and cashews. Sauté for an additional 3 minutes.

3. Add in the 3 cups of Israeli Couscous and mix with vegetables for 1 minute. This helps toast the couscous and brings out it’s flavor. This would be a good time to season everything.

4. Pour the 3 1/2 cups of boiling water into pot and mix everything. Reduce to simmer. Cover.

5. Cook for 8-10 minutes. It’s ready when all the water is absorbed. Enjoy!

One thought on “Get Skinny Or Die Tryin’

Leave a comment