Workouts

The 10 to 6

Mondays are such a drag and getting myself into the gym requires some serious self-motivation. Rather than spending an hour doing the same thing I was on a quest to find a workout that would challenge me physically and keep me engaged.

I found a 10 to 6 work out on one of my favorite blogs, Peanut Butter Fingers. I love circuit training because it really gets you sweating, burning, toning…crying…cursing :-P. You’re constantly on to the next thing so there’s no time to get bored. Julie, blogger at Peanut Butter Fingers, is always exploring fun and new ways to work out and I love that she shares her discoveries with readers!

The 10-6 Workout

**Complete each exercise listed for 10 reps. Once you’re done, repeat the process by doing each move for 9 reps. Repeat process until you get down to 8, 7, & 6 reps.**

Mountain Climbers

Lunges

Jumping Jacks

Squats

Push-Ups

Plank

Bicycle Crunches

Burpees

V-Ups

KettleBell Swings

Tricep Dips

Crunches on Exercise Ball

I began my workout with a mile run followed by the 10 to 6. This workout is no joke. It’s a complete butt-kicking total body circuit. These moves weren’t new to me so I figured that doing them in decreasing reps no more than 10 would make it a piece of cake.

In just a few minutes I was in full on red-faced, frizzy-haired, huffing and puffing mode but I pushed through. I’ve been trying to decrease my mile time so after a few minutes my legs were already feeling like jello. The Burpees and Planks were the hardest to get through and knowing that the rep count would decrease helped me stay motivated until the end.

It took me around 35 minutes to complete the workout. You can increase the difficulty by adding weights to the moves but I think this workout was demanding on its own. It’s amazing how much you can do with just your own body weight and this 10 to 6 is perfect for when you’re on-the-go!

I swung by Bread & Butter Market  afterwards for some lunch. My salad included romaine lettuce, hearts of palm, baby corn, red cabbage, and diced tomatoes with a touch of sesame ginger dressing (you gotta live!). I always monitor how much dressing they put on my salad. Salad dressing becomes the devil when you pour it ALL over. Use enough to just lightly coat everything and you’ll still get the flavor, I promise 😉

Salad from Bread & Butter Market

Have fun sweating!

One thought on “The 10 to 6

Leave a comment