Recipe

Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Pie

Everyday around 3pm my stomach grumbles for food. Its that awkward in-between time after lunch and before dinner. 3pm is when dangerous things can occur if I don’t take care of my hunger with something satisfying :-). I usually try to have a snack that has carbs and protein (around 200 calories) to keep me satisfied until dinner. The grocery store was having a 5 for $5 deal on Fage Greek Yogurt this week and who could pass up such a great deal?

I always buy the Total 0% kind because it has 0 grams of fat and you really can’t tell the difference. If you’ve never tried greek yogurt you’re missing out! Its tangy, creamy, and acts like a canvas–you can use it in anything really. It is also a great substitute for fatty ingredients in recipes.

1 C Butter = 1/4 C Greek Yogurt + 1/2 C Butter

1 C mayonnaise/sour cream = 1 C Greek Yogurt

1 C oil = 3/4C Greek Yogurt

( source: http://pinterest.com/pin/33777065926048055/ )

 I like to get creative and mix in all sorts of things when I eat it plain 🙂

The 5 for $5 deal was for the yogurts that had the added “compartment” of mix-ins–this one being honey. As much as I love honey for its health benefits I don’t need THAT much of it. This entire container was 170 calories with almost half coming from honey, which is why I added some fiber one cereal (good carb!) to the yogurt and used half the honey. Compromise, people :-).

Although I only used half the honey I still got 13g of protein which is crazy for a 5.3 oz container. I believe that with these type of yogurts that have that added “compartment” its important to use only half and add a filler. This lets you cut down the sugar but still enjoy the taste. Also, adding cinnamon to the yogurt is a great way to add some flavor without the calories.

Ideas for Fillers:

1/4 C nuts

1/4 C whole grain/fiber cereal

fresh or frozen fruit

1/4 C granola

chia seeds

These options coupled with the greek yogurt would provide you with a perfect afternoon snack thats low in calories and high in protein and carbs. Fall is definitely in the air and I’d love to share a recipe with you for sveltehealthy “pumpkin pie” that you and your body will love.

SvelteHealthy Pumpkin Pie

1 C Fage Greek Yogurt Total 0%

1/4 C Canned Pumpkin (I love Libby’s!)

1/4 C of any all-natural vanilla ice cream variety

2 tbsp honey

2 graham cracker squares

cinnamon

nutmeg

1. In a bowl mix the yogurt, canned pumpkin, and ice cream.

2. sprinkle a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and keep mixing.

3. split mixture into 2 bowls and place in freezer for 10 minutes to firm up.

4. Crush graham crackers and sprinkle on top and drizzle with honey (1tbsp per bowl)

Each bowl has around 237 calories and 13g of protein! I love making this, tts a great variation of pumpkin pie that never leaves me feeling guilty!

Leave a comment