coffee / Dinner

Misto On A Misty Day

Hey guys, like this post’s super corny title? 🙂

I’m writing this post from Starbucks where I’m sipping on my newly discovered caffè misto where outside it continues to downpour which is now turning more into a mist. I’ve never had one of these before but they sort of taste exactly like a caffè latte except it has equal parts espresso and milk whereas a latte has more milk than espresso. I’m always hawking down the Starbucks crew making sure they put extra foam on top of my drink. Thats the best part!

If you’ve noticed, I now have a SvelteHealthy logo it only took me two hours to figure out the program, and how to copy, paste, and copy, and paste, and copy, and paste. I like to think im OK with computers but this whole logo creation made me re-think that statement. My idea was to create a feminine looking broccoli floret with heels–which are not quite there yet as you can see. I texted my friend Sara to check it out and she referred to him as a “cute little guy” so looks like my little girly creation did not come out how I envisioned.

With last night’s rainy weather dinner definitely came in the form of some comfort food. I never got a chance to take a picture since my boyfriend and I inhaled every bite within seconds but I’d love to share this easy, and tasty recipe with you all. I must preface this with saying that Trader Joe’s seriously has THE best ready-to-use canned marinara sauce.

What I love about it aside from the fact that it taste like I spent hours making it, is that its cheap ($1.79) for 28 oz! Also no preservatives.

Turkey Meat Sauce with Pappardelle Noodles

1lb ground turkey

1 can Trader Joe’s Tuscano Marinara Sauce

1/2 cup diced onion

2 cloves minced garlic

1 bag of Trader Joe’s pappardelle egg noodles

2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions

1. Heat olive oil in pan, and then add minced garlic with onion and sauté until softened.

2. Add ground turkey and with a fork start breaking it up into that “crumble” consistency.

3. Once ground turkey is browned, add the can of Tuscano Marinara Sauce and cover. Simmer for 15 minutes.

4. Cook pappardelle noodles for about 8 minutes (fork tender) and before you strain the noodles reserve 1/4 cup of the pasta water to add to the meat sauce which thicken it up a bit. Pasta starch=natural sauce thickener.

5. I dont think I need to explain how to eat it 🙂

You can definitely substitute the ground turkey for your meat of choice. I chose ground turkey because I feel a little healthier eating it as opposed to ground beef.

Leave a comment